Halal Vinegar Technology
Reported by Talha Bin Naf’e Abu Sufyan who narrates it from Jaber Bin Abdullah Radiallaho Anh that “Prophet Muhammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam took me to his house one day & Rasoolullah was offered a piece of bread, he asked if a curry / condiment was also available, he was answered that there was nothing except some vinegar”.
Prophet Muhammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam said, “Khall (vinegar) is the best curry / condiment”, Jaber Bin Abdullah Radi Allaho Anh said that as I heard this from Prophet Muhammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam, I LOVE Khall from that time, & Talha Radi Allaho Anh said that I LOVE Khall from the time I heard it from Jaber.
Vinegar (Khall) is a substance that is praised by Prophet Muhammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam, but to brew the vinegar with Halal Technology is not known today to many Muslims around the world.
From Sunan Abu Dawood
Tariq Bin Suwaid inquired Prophet Mohammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam about drinking of wine & Prophet Mohammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam forbade it, then he asked again & Prophet Mohammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam forbade it, then he said, O Prophet of Allah, it is a MEDICINE, Prophet Mohammad Sallallaho Alaihe Wasallam said, ” NO! IT IS AN AILMENT (Disease)”. Same subject is quoted in other Ahadith of Sahih Muslim, Tirmidhi, Ibn-e-Majah, etc.
Sunan Al Tirmidhi
Yahya Bin Abbaad narrates that Anas Bin Malik Radi Allaho Anh asked Prophet Muhammad Sallallah-o-Alaih-e-Wasallam if wine could be turned into Khall (vinegar); Prophet Muhammad Sallallah-o-Alaih-e-Wasallam said “NO”. As per another Hadith, Prophet Muhammad Sallallah-o-Alaih-e-Wasallam ordered that all stocks of wine should be wasted.
SOME OPINIONS ABOUT HALAL STATUS OF VINEGARS
If the vinegar was made by adopting certain processes such as by mixing salt with it or aerating wine and exposing it to Acetobacter bacteria, (which alters the wine completely and changes it to vinegar) such vinegar is also permissible (Halal) according to the Hanafi doctors of law. However, according to some other jurists, this conversion into vinegar is unlawful (Haraam) (Bahar 8:219).
When wine turns to vinegar by itself, without any deliberate treatment needed for it to be changed, it is permissible to eat, drink and handle it, according to the consensus of the scholars. But if the wine has become vinegar because of deliberate treatment, by adding vinegar, onions, salt etc., or by any other process, in this case the scholars (may Allaah have mercy on them) differ as to whether it is permissible.
The Shafi’is, Hanbalis and some of the Maalikis say that it is not permissible to deliberately change wine to vinegar because then it is not pure. The evidence (daleel) for this is the Hadeeth of Anas ibn Maalik (may Allaah be pleased with him) who said: “The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was asked whether wine could be changed to be used as vinegar. He said, ‘No.’” (Reported by Muslim).
Abu Talhah (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was asked about some orphans who had inherited some wine. He said, “Pour it away.” He was asked, “Could they not make it into vinegar?” He said, “No.” (Reported by Muslim).
Halal Status of vinegar by Muslimconsumergroup:
There is a difference of opinion among Hanafi and Shafi’ee fiqh schools regarding vinegar. There is also a difference of opinion among Islamic Scholars regarding wine vinegar, since there is a possibility of wine being not 100% converted to acetic acid and water. There is left over wine in the wine vinegar, we consider wine vinegar not a Halal vinegar. We recommend distilled white vinegar because it is made from dilute alcohol. Please consult your sheik or Imam on this topic.
How the brewing of Halal Vinegar begins ?
Regarding HALAL ruling for different types of vinegars, there is a conflict among various schools of thoughts. It is because they never knew that vinegar can be produced by not following the primary anaerobic fermentation. Aerobic fermentation from the first day will never validate the FERMENT to be consumed as WINE, as it will be dangerous having Acetaldehydes.
Both wine & vinegar are brothers from the same mother, which is sugar, wine hates to breathe & loves anaerobic environment, while vinegar can’t exist without breathing, it needs oxidation. Biological vinegar industry makes fruit wine primarily & then oxidize it by passing air bubbles for obtaining vinegar.
When you will see CO2 bubbles during primary fermentation, ethyl alcohol is produced immediately, but to mature it anaerobically is the fundamental of wine-making, we differ in Halal brewing technology of vinegar at this stage, that we keep the alcohol being oxidized from the first day, in this manner, pre-oxidized alcohol changes immediately to other compounds, which can be Acetaldehydes OR Ethyl Acetate that further oxidizes to Acetic Acid.
Pre-oxidized Ethyl Alcohol is dangerous & harmful for drinking, so we have differentiated Halal Vinegar Technology with the traditional vinegar-making.
Other issue for Halal vinegar is to avoid BREWER’S YEAST, because it is obtained while making wine, many Ulama’a have given Fatwa that it is Haram, so to use wild yeasts is the only option for you, some people may use baker’s yeast, but I have seen that it imparts a bad taste to vinegar.
When vinegar will be made by the following principals, all doubts will come to an end & every one will agree that Halal Vinegar production is nothing but :
- Using wild yeasts & avoiding brewer’s yeast
- Fermenting aerobically from the first day, so that the wine is not aged & alcohol is immediately oxidized
By oxidizing the brew aerobically for at least 90 days, it is confirmed that all by-products (either alcohol, acetaldehyde or acetates) of fermentation will be converted to Acetic Acid.
COPIED VERBATIM FROM: